| JoliePoufiasse wrote:|
He didn't use his hand though. It should count.
this is the rule and definition, the ref got it right
Hand Ball (or “handling” as it’s now officially known) is commonly misunderstood to be
any contact of the ball to hand or arm, or any contact to the hand or arm that provides
advantage to the offending team.
It is neither of these.
Instead, the question of if contact of the ball to the arm or hand is a foul is not is one of
mere contact, but rather did the player deliberately make contact (or not avoid
contact) with the ball with that area of the body? If the answer is yes (and the player isn’t
a goalkeeper in the penalty area), you have a foul; but if the referee believes the
answer is no (even if it results in a goal!), then the answer must be no.