Forum Home Forum Home > The Archives > Hair Care Archives
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedWho presses?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Hair ViVi

Ultra

Author
StrayFish View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Who presses?
    Posted: Jun 19 2007 at 1:36am

I need to stop the braids mania, does anyone press and still has natural helathy hair?

Sponsored Links

StrayFish View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jun 19 2007 at 9:12am
No one? I am 4b and i hate my braids, i only had one day to take off the old and do new ones and i don't like them.

Come on people i need some motivation here, i am actually starting to like my hair, the lenght is hard to style at the moment.
Romeosgirl81 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jun 19 2007 at 4:25pm
i used to get my hair press every two weeks when i was younger, and it was very healthy and thick! i cant see myself doing this now, as i am not a pro and my grandmom was a former beautician! so she knew what she was doing! she didnt use anything special, mane n tail poo and con and dax grease to press with!lol
loolalooh View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jun 19 2007 at 4:50pm
I'm 4b but transitioning so I can't offer much input.  But seeing as you've only got one response, I'll give what I can.

From a few tips I've received (for when I start to deal with my natural hair), it IS possible to have natural healthy hair that is pressed.  Use a good heat protectant, run the flat-iron through your hair quickly, try to airdry instead of blow-drying before you flat-iron, and use the lowest heat possible to get your tresses straight.

Here's a fotki of someone with HEALTHY flat-ironed hair.  She's not 4b but it still might be useful to go over her pictures and pressing tips.  (I think she's 4a/3b?) I hope she doesn't mind me putting her fotki out there like that Smile: