Forum Home Forum Home > Natural Hair Care > Natural Hair Care
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login
Angkor Cambodian Hair

Whats wrong with my hair?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Bootiful Cream

Author
Heavy Rotation View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Heavy Rotation Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Whats wrong with my hair?
    Posted: Nov 09 2012 at 9:31am
Originally posted by onthewaytoWL onthewaytoWL wrote:

OP, I'm a newbie here but if I may:

Water binds to the protein structure and fibers of the hair and therefore, in the case of natural hair especially, moisture is extremely important. Curly hair types are generally more porous and can soak up and retain moisture (and anything else), hence the tendency of the curly hair types to shrink when faced with humidity. 

Outside factors (ie. styling methods, chlorine, chemicals/color) are what leech moisture from hair and place us in a position to have  to ensure that we replace the moisture. Of course, besides lifestyle, the degree of curliness will also affect moisturization needs. 

The problem is that dry hair does not have the elasticity that moist hair has. Therein lies the danger of skipping moisturization altogether, especially if you like to style your hair. Poor elasticity is the perfect set-up for hair breakage. 

To answer your most recent question, since curly hair tends to be porous, whatever you are putting in it, in addition to oils is also being absorbed and that could be part of the issue with why your hair is not keeping its luster from one day to the next. 

agreed!
Sponsored Links

carolina cutie View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote carolina cutie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Nov 08 2012 at 11:32pm
Originally posted by lalaLeslie lalaLeslie wrote:

No, I've never tried those.