Hair ViVi

Ultra

Author
rickysrose View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Curly styles, styling and products
    Posted: Aug 28 2006 at 6:25pm

I’m new to curls … I just installed my very first curly weave.  I’m using EP naturally curly, about 2oz each of naturally dark in 10-13”, 14-17”, 18-21”.   

Out of desperation, I bought John Frieda extra strength frizz ease serum, curl perfector and the flawless finishing crème.  The hair is curly, not frizzy and pretty soft.  Judging from cookinggirl’s pics, I think the aveda universal crème may give better results.  I also read very good things about undiluted lottabody.  I also read that it’s best not to touch the hair when wet and for best results use a leave-in treatment, a frizz serum and styling cream.

My question is about styles, styling and products.  What are your tried and true curly hair styles, styling techniques and styling products?

Sponsored Links

MissLuxurious View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Aug 28 2006 at 6:53pm
Pretty much what you said. However, I find every batch to be different. Some products that worked great on one install, flopped for another. The main thing is not touching the curls after you have washed them (as far as combing). You really don't want to overstyle. This creates frizz. What you need to do is detangle before you wash, and wash in the shower, in a downward motion, and apply  your shampoo and conditioner in a downward motion, not going against the cuticle. Towel dry in a downward direction, and apply your leave in, and styling products. Then scruch if you want, but be careful not to ruffle the hair too much. REMEMBER: Overstyling creates frizz!!!!!!!

I find that creamy styling products do better in indian hair, so that's what I use. I love the noodle head, Aveda Universal Brilliant Styling Creme, Salerm 21, Silky Sexy Hair leave-in.