Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>
It Always Begin With Beautiful Hair

Premier Lace Wigs

Mynx Hair

Author
BunnieHoney View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Expect the unexpected
    Posted: Jan 14 2009 at 3:23pm
Hello and Happy New Year fellow naturals/transitioners/newly BC'ed and lurkersLOL.

I have noticed a lot of members bc'ing and transitioning recently and even though I am in my second year as a natural, I just wanted to share some experience and tips and hope that others will jump in as well.

Scab hair:  I had no clue about this until I started lurking the boards.  I just thought that since I had not had a relaxer in my hair for over a year that I could slowly trim off the relaxed ends and my hair would be fine and what was left was my natural hair.  Boy was I wrong.  My hair was still healing, yes the hair was virgin, but it was still coming out of a scalp that had not healed from previous chemical services. I just found that my hair healed better when I did not overload it with products.

Protein:  The common belief stated, when I was lurking in 2007, was that as a natural, I would not need to use protein or as much protein as a relaxed head.  As Patricia stated in her thread, she did need protien added into her regimen.  I have found that I, too, need a regular protein treatment added to my regimen as well.  I do a protein treatment every other week with yougurt or silk amino acid added to my dc.

Textures:  I never knew about all the wonderful textures we have until this board and each should be celebrated for what each texture does.  I used to think that hair textures determines the product.  This is not true.  Once your figure out your protein/moisture balance, you hair will let you know what will work for you.

Mineral oil:  I know, I know, it's supposed to clog the pores.  Tough, my hair likes mineral oil, but the product that I use (amla oil) is washed out after one or maybe two days after application.