Black Hair Media Forum Homepage
BHM BHM BHM
Forum Home Forum Home > Lets Talk > Talk, Talk, and More Talk
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - State Fines For Texting and Driving
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login
 

State Fines For Texting and Driving

 
 Post Reply Post Reply






Author
tatee View Drop Down
Elite Member
Elite Member
Avatar

Joined: Jun 09 2006
Status: Offline
Points: 382747
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tatee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: State Fines For Texting and Driving
    Posted: May 08 2014 at 6:32am

How Much Does Your State Fine For Texting and Driving?

It could be anywhere from $20 to $10,000 for a first-time offender—or no ban at all.

—By Benjy Hansen-Bundy and Tasneem Raja


The good news: fatal car crashes are on the decline. The bad news: fatal car crashes involving cell phone use—anything from texting to talking to reaching for a ringing phone—are on the riseIn fact, the leading cause of death for teenage drivers is now texting, not drinking, with nearly a dozen teens dying each day in a texting-related car crash. Stark figures like this have driven 46 states to pass legislation banning texting and driving. But texting fines vary wildly across the country, and you'll end up paying a little or a lot depending on where you got caught. 

In California, the maximum penalty for a first-time offender is just $20, the lowest in the country, while Alaska will slap you with a whopping $10,000 fine and a year in prison. Meanwhile, some states don't allow cops to pull drivers over for texting, but can impose a texting fine on top of another penalty, like speeding. Confused yet? Keep your eyes on the road: we've rounded up maximum first-offense fines for fully licensed drivers in each state (jump down to see the full table), along with a few more sobering stats on using your phone while behind the wheel. Remember: local laws may apply even if there's no statewide ban where you're driving, but to be safe—literally—just don't text and drive.





 http://www.motherjones.com/media/2013/10/numbers-texting-and-driving


Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
coconess View Drop Down
Elite Member
Elite Member
Avatar

Joined: Dec 30 2006
Location: Cali
Status: Offline
Points: 219175
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote coconess Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 08 2014 at 8:27am
lies@ $20 in cali 
Back to Top
Beauty620 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: Oct 28 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 1471
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beauty620 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 08 2014 at 8:32am
$150.00 in Shaker Heights, Ohio
But they also mentioned something about $1,000 fine for....IDK what tho LOL

They can also put points on your License Shocked
Back to Top
PurplePhase View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: Jun 08 2004
Status: Offline
Points: 187462
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote PurplePhase Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 08 2014 at 1:36pm
it's not high enough
Back to Top
JasmineE02 View Drop Down
Elite Member
Elite Member
Avatar

Joined: Apr 23 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 40202
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JasmineE02 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 08 2014 at 1:42pm
*waits impatiently for google driverless cars*
Back to Top
Get Longer Healthier Faster Growing Hair
House of CB London
Get Healthier Stronger Longer Hair
The Elite Hair Care Sorority
Electric Cherry Hair
Hair Extensions Wefted Hair Wigs and More
Human Hair Wigs
Wefting Training
Dime Curves Enhancement Shake
Brazilian Hair
Brazilian Hair
Switch Up your Look with a protective Style
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down