Black Hair Media Forum Homepage
BHM BHM BHM
Summer Hair Takeover Specials
Forum Home Forum Home > The Archives > Weaves / Extensions Archives > Weaves / Extensions Archives 2007
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login
Perfect Hair Collection

Forum LockedSew in vs. glue

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

The Best Human Hair Available with No Service Match

Author
ankorchick View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Sew in vs. glue
    Posted: Sep 06 2006 at 10:01pm
I am new to this and was wondering what the benefits and disadvantages of sewing in versus using glue or tape.  What do you think.  My main concern is my hair looking natural.  A close second is how long it lasts.  Right now, I am using glue and you know that black glue doesn't last long.  The first weave I had was a fusion that took almost every stitch of  hair I had out!  So, I'm kind of gunshy and that's why I've been using the black glue.

Thanks, in advance.
Sponsored Links

PElegance View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Sep 06 2006 at 11:12pm

First, I don't use the black glue anymore, because it is too hard too remove and it removes my hair with it.  It is a latex glue.  So for people allergic to latex it is also a no no. 

I use a clear/yellow silicone glue, either Vapon No Tape or Liquid Gold.  I use a tape over them called Protac. I think that this increases the longevity.  When I don't use tape I find that I am constantly trying to keep the edges from lifting especially with washing. The tape & silicone glues can be dissolved with an oily remover or pure acetone.  I have only experimented with this glue/tape for 3 months, but there are members here & the Hair Boutique that have used it longer. (up to 8 weeks)