BHM BHM BHM
Forum Home Forum Home > Lets Talk > Talk, Talk, and More Talk
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login
Angkor Cambodian Hair

Prioritizing Work and Family

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Bootiful Cream

Author
 Rating: Topic Rating: 3 Votes, Average 3.67  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
purpulicious01 View Drop Down
Elite Member
Elite Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote purpulicious01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Prioritizing Work and Family
    Posted: Aug 11 2013 at 12:17pm
uppitynegroid's thread got me wondering: 

How do you ladies prioritize your work and family? 
*If you don't mind, please state your age or which age bracket you fall into (i.e. early/mid/late 20s, 30s, 40s, etc) *

I'm in my early 20s, and personally, even though I love the field I'm in (mental health), my family takes precedent over my work and I would put my career on hold for my own family. I graduated college and have plans to go back to get an advanced degree, but I knew I wanted to start my family an early age (early-mid 20s) and be a stay at home mother to raise my children and most likely homeschool them.

However, not everyone delays their career to pursue a family life. When I was in college, many of my female professors delayed starting their own families in order to pursue an advanced degree and as soon as they graduated, they started having children (I remember one year in particular, almost every single one of my professors, recent phD grads and in their early to mid 30s, were expecting at the exact same time). 

To those women who are pursuing a career/education AND want families, would/did you: delay starting your own family (marriage, children, etc) in pursuit of your career/education? If so, why? OR delay pursuing a career/education, so that you could start your own family? If so, why? 

I think this can be a healthy discussion. Let's try to keep this civil.