Print Page | Close Window

How old were you when you bought your 1st home?

Printed From: Black Hair Media Forum
Category: Lets Talk
Forum Name: Talk, Talk, and More Talk
Forum Description: In this Forum, the talk is about everything that can be talked about.
URL: http://Forum.BlackHairMedia.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=368668
Printed Date: Jul 17 2018 at 10:59am

Topic: How old were you when you bought your 1st home?
Posted By: Blac1Chyna
Subject: How old were you when you bought your 1st home?
Date Posted: Feb 21 2014 at 12:10am
I'm feeling pressure by the fam for me to become a home owner. My mom is forever saying that I should be an owner instead of a renter, etc. Now is just not the time for me to buy IMO. I have no kids, I'm just getting started in my career and haven't even finished school yet. So what I look like buying a permanent residence?

Replies:
Posted By: Printer_Ink
Date Posted: Feb 21 2014 at 12:54am
I purchased my first home at 31 and my mother also pushed me to buy earlier than that. (Renting is throwing your money out of the window - that is true). I didn't have kids either or even a bf at the time but that has nothing to do with it.

Home ownership is an 'investment' - same as putting your money into the stock market (so be careful WHERE you buy and WHAT you buy. It's just that you are living in your investment instead of looking at it on paper. The big rule - you want to buy something that you can one day SELL and make a PROFIT off the home, just like stocks. Long story.) 

And 'permanent' is relative. Nobody your age would live in a house .. permanently chances are. I would say you have to live there for at least 3 years to earn back at least the money you into it originally. But I would say 5 - 6 years would be long enough to live in your 'starter home' before you sell [up]  and buy something else.Wink