Forum Description: General Discussions on Hair Care
URL: http://Forum.BlackHairMedia.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=368584
Printed Date: Jun 22 2018 at 12:44pm

Topic: HELP PLEASE!!!!
Posted By: I Love Greece
Subject: HELP PLEASE!!!!
Date Posted: Feb 18 2014 at 12:02pm
Hi

I have a young African foster daughter with afro hair.  I've no experience of afro hair so any advice would really be appreciated.

Someone has mentioned to me that I should put oil on it every night (Argan Oil and Olive Oil has been mentioned).  Is this right?  As we have been told not to wash her hair every night, do we just massage it into dry hair.  Should she then sleep with her hair wrapped?  Do I then need to wash it off in the morning or do you leave it in?

Any other tips would really help.

Sorry, I'm so ignorant, but I want to get it right.

Thanks.

Replies:
Posted By: sbj1104
Date Posted: Feb 18 2014 at 3:10pm
Leave it in.  You'll get a rhythm for what works and what doesn't in her hair.  Old school used to grease the scalp, comb through and then style using braids, plaits, leaving it in a 'fro', bushballs, or other.  New school realizes that anything with mineral oil or petrolatum does not allow the scalp to breath, so new school uses all natural hair 'grease' or oils to lubricate the scalp and hair.  This is done because afro hair texture does not allow moisture and the natural oils from the scalp to coat the hair as easily as straighter hairs do, so we enlist the aid of natural oils.  This is why we don't rinse them out.  They help lock in the moisture and coat the stands.  Brushes are BIG no no's.  They tear our hair.  Use the tangle teaser as a brush and a big fro comb that won't tear the hair.
http://www.amazon.com/Tangle-Teezer-Salon-Elite-Purple/dp/B003GDK6F2/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1392757628&sr=8-3&keywords=tangle+teaser" rel="nofollow - http://www.amazon.com/Tangle-Teezer-Salon-Elite-Purple/dp/B003GDK6F2/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1392757628&sr=8-3&keywords=tangle+teaser