Print Page | Close Window

Medical billing/coding as a career?

Printed From: Black Hair Media Forum
Category: Lets Talk
Forum Name: Talk, Talk, and More Talk
Forum Description: In this Forum, the talk is about everything that can be talked about.
URL: http://Forum.BlackHairMedia.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=367798
Printed Date: Nov 19 2017 at 12:09am

Topic: Medical billing/coding as a career?
Posted By: mangachan
Subject: Medical billing/coding as a career?
Date Posted: Jan 21 2014 at 6:25pm
Right now I don't have a "normal" job anymore so some family members are practically TELLING me to take a program in medical billing and coding so I can get a job.  I have a degree and I am actually doing freelance work in that area but it's taking longer than anticipated for a lot of different reasons.

I don't really want to go back to school again, especially since I won't even be guaranteed any kind of job.  So that's possibly 4-6 months on a program that may cost thousands of dollars out of MY pocket (that I don't have)...the people telling me to do that wouldn't, can't and shouldn't foot the bill for this.  I have alot of personal issues with this whole issue but my main concern here is that the only way I've been building the momentum I have as far as my freelance work is that I can dedicate most of my time to it. 

Plus, that's like what, 4-6 months maybe before I can even get a job with this certificate?  And I still may not get a job after that.  Just the thought of jumping through more hoops in this job search thing with no freaking reward pisses me off to the point of physical illness.   I will contact a member of the department at the community college to see what she says about it but I just expect it to be full of bull crap about how awesome the program is...because as an admissions adviser I do NOT in any way expect an unbiased assessment.