Premier Lace Wigs

Mynx Hair

Author
mstoya25 View Drop Down
VIP Member
VIP Member

Direct Link To This Post Topic: My hair wont burn
    Posted: May 27 2008 at 9:57pm
I've been burning my shed hair since I was a child, but I am getting a stockpile of it because it won't burn.   I have a nice bundle of hair in the ashtray that has about 6 matches stuck in it from me trying to burn it up, with no haps....I feel like I should use some heat just to see what happens....Does any body else have hair that won't catch a fire????Confused
Sponsored Links

talkalotgirl View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 27 2008 at 10:04pm

I'm confused Toya, why are you burning your hair?  I have never tried to do that before.

mstoya25 View Drop Down
VIP Member
VIP Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 27 2008 at 11:12pm
I burn my shed hair instead of just throwing it out....My granny taught me that...LOL
Drea1974 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 27 2008 at 11:58pm
Originally posted by mstoya25 mstoya25 wrote:

I burn my shed hair instead of just throwing it out....My granny taught me that...LOL

My grandmother is from Mississippi and her mother was Creole. It was believed (and probably is very true) that you should burn your shed hair so that your enemies can not use it to create a voodoo doll from it and inflict great grief and harm upon you. My Grandmother taught me the same thing and I have been doing it for a long time.
 As for the resistant hair burning, it is because we nolonger use flammable products in our hair so it does not catch fire as easily. I light a piece of paper sit my hair on it and then light two more and sit them on top of the hair, that has worked for me quite well. HTH hair buddySmile
bsquared86 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 28 2008 at 1:03am
my fam says that too (they're also from the south) but i don't think there are any folks out here in LA that know about voodoo so my shed strands are safe, lol.