Black Hair Media Forum Homepage
BHM BHM BHM
CoCo Black Hair
Forum Home Forum Home > Hair Care > Weaves / Extensions (Newbies)
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login
Extensions Plus

Topic ClosedMaintaining Weave Tips!

Post Reply Post Reply
It Always Begin With Beautiful Hair

Premier Lace Wigs

Mynx Hair

Author
SuiGenerisA View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Maintaining Weave Tips!
    Posted: Jul 31 2010 at 4:35pm
(Kinda long but please read. May help you!) r

Hey ladies.

So a couple months ago I was worrying about how I'd get my weave done and whether it was worth the money because every time I get it done it matts up really quickly. Granted, I wasn't buying quality hair but as a college student, I don't have the funds, time or energy to seek a vendor and start breaking major bread!

In March I purchased one bag of Bohyme (90$) straight hair (gray packaging) and got it installed the second week of April. I got it done for a special event on April 24th and was scared to wash it, for fear of my edges not being "layed" anymore and me not being able to blend my real hair and weave. ( My braid pattern was very simple. 3 rows in the back, 2 weft pieces per track and the front of my hair was blowed dried and flat ironed for blending)

After my special event night, my hair was sweated out, nappy on it's edges and my weave def. needed more care when combing out. I washed it the night after, let it air dry and flat ironed it. It came out nice, not as smooth and straight as my first install though. By June my weave was parched and no longer felt good. I thought I probably got my use out of it and I had NG like crazy. I had a 2 week grace period of my real hair and then by 4th of July weekend I got my hair reinstalled...using the same "parched" and dry hair!

I HAD NO MONEY TO PURCHASE NEW HAIR AND NEEDED SOMETHING QUICK.