Black Hair Media Forum Homepage
BHM BHM BHM
Forum Home Forum Home > Hair Care > Hair Breakage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login
Extensions Plus

Topic ClosedIs Monistat still used to grow back sides?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Author
NinaS View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Is Monistat still used to grow back sides?
    Posted: Jan 24 2009 at 8:37pm
I'm getting desperate. Was using Rogaine but once I stopped, all the hair I grew fell off. My sides are bald. Do people still use Monistat for hair loss and does it work fast? How often should I use it to avoid migraines? I hear about Megatek a lot but I'm just not willing to use horse medication on my hair that is not approved for human consumption - afraid of side effects, like ending up with a brain tumor.
Sponsored Links

Wanny View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jan 25 2009 at 3:01pm
I'm no expert but I thought Monistat basically grows hair faster because of its anti-fungal properties.  That doesn't seem like it would help you since it seems to be a medical/dermatological condition.  It sounds like you are going to have to stay on some type of regimen.  I've heard Nioxin is very good and may be cheaper because I know Borics has specials on it and TJ Maxx has it sometimes.  My mom has many clients who buy a tons of it as soon as it comes in to maintain the hair they have.
nevacontent View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jan 26 2009 at 7:34am
I started using Monistat last week after reading LHCF, longhaircommunity and of course, BHM. Some people have been successful in growing in their thins spots. I was thinking of using Rogaine, but did not want to risk my hair falling out once I stopped.

-In order to avoid migraines, you will have to dilute MN with either water or essential oils.
-Depending on the user, some notice growth within 3 - 6 weeks.