Perfect Hair Collection

Help with your career search...

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

The Best Human Hair Available with No Service Match

Author
PurplePumps View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PurplePumps Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help with your career search...
    Posted: Jun 03 2011 at 7:49pm
Hey ladies!

I was reading through the "No job" thread and I wanted to share with you all something I learned a few days ago.  I was gonna post it in that thread but since it's 20 pages already I figured it would be better to just  start a new thread.

A little about my background: I graduated from college in 2010 with a degree in Psychology and currently I'm pursuing a job in my field.

I went to career services at my alma matter (which is a good idea if you ladies haven't already done that!), and the advisor told me that WE CAN NO LONGER HAVE GENERAL RESUMES when applying to jobs online.  Meaning, having one resume that you send to every company is NOT going to land you a job.

Why?

She told me that usually what happens when you apply for a job online and submit your resume is that your resume gets sent to a large database.  Nowadays, companies are spending thousands of dollars for resume-scanning software due to the high amounts of applicants searching for jobs in this economy.  

Basically what this scanning software does is compare your resume to the job description in the online job post and determines how much of your resume matches the job description.  If there's not much of a match, your resume gets tossed out and you never get a call from the company.  If there's a good amount of matching, then your resume gets sent off to an actual human being for review.