It Always Begin With Beautiful Hair

Premier Lace Wigs

Mynx Hair

Author
perkins35 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hair care regimen after Chemo
    Posted: Jul 25 2006 at 1:57pm
Hi,
 I am a newbie and have started my hair care journey recently. This question is for my sister's hair. Last year she underwent chemo therapy and as a result she has lost all her hair. Recently her hair started growing back but has stopped at about less than 1 inch. I have told her to start co washing everyday and I have been using surge plus 14 , ORS Olive Oil Moisturizing Lotion, and castor oil on her hair. I have also started massaging her scalp nightly and encouraging her to drink more water. Does anyone have any other ideas on how to jump start her hair growth again. Anything suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links

babygirl185 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jul 25 2006 at 2:27pm

Wow, that sounds like a good plan already!

Do you use a wide tooth comb to detangle her hair? What styles does she do? What is her hair type?

You can try to massage her scalp with essential oils like rosemary oil mixed with a carrier like jojoba oil.

She can also start taking supplements - maybe starting with a good multi vitamin and essential fatty acids (flaxseed oil, evening primrose oil, those omega 3-6-9 combos)

She should ask her doctor about taking biotin/MSM/hair growth pills - they might help too.

I hope your sister gets better soon! HTH
Baggettcindy View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jul 25 2006 at 2:27pm
My mom also lost her hair through chemo..but her hair was kept in a low cut to begin with.  I would maybe try a medicated shampoo...maybe sulfur 8, but just my opinion...I'm no expert.
perkins35 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jul 25 2006 at 2:35pm
Hi Babygirl85,