Black Hair Media Forum Homepage
BHM BHM BHM
Forum Home Forum Home > Lets Talk > Talk, Talk, and More Talk
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

BHM Can We Talk About School?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 2345>

Author
 Rating: Topic Rating: 3 Votes, Average 5.00  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Angelified View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (2) Thanks(2)   Quote Angelified Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 09 2013 at 10:30pm
I am new to this kind of school system here in the US. In my country my daughter started school at 7:45am and finished at 12 and this starts at 1st grade. She did a sport had a 30 min lunch, had recess for 15 mins. She was acting in plays with a part assigned to each child and reciting poems. If Children in Africa can do this where is the U.S. going wrong?From 3rd grade school ends at 1:30pm and then 4th grade school ends at 3pm. And still learnt. I think that for children to be be well rounded they need the physical activity, they need to move around and compete with other children in their districts. How does a child start school at 7:55am and finish at 3pm? What are they learning that they are being made to concentrate for that long. I see nothing special in the teaching because when my child comes home I still feel like I am teaching her again. Sport helps with discipline and teamwork which i see lack of amongst many American kids. As for parental involvement, I am very involved in my childs work but it is not my job to teach them. To be honest if I taught my child I WOULD GO CRAZY. I DO NOT HAVE THE PATIENCE. I think that there is a lot of slacking that goes on with reference to the school where my daughter is currently. I am moving districts because of this issue. I am not happy with the system here but teachers need to be more creative and stop just teaching out of textbooks and the internet. They need to get children moving. Think outside the box!!