BHM BHM BHM
Forum Home Forum Home > Lets Talk > Talk, Talk, and More Talk
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login
Perfect Hair Collection

A black identity question

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>

The Best Human Hair Available with No Service Match

Author
 Rating: Topic Rating: 4 Votes, Average 4.00  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
creole booty View Drop Down
Elite Member
Elite Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (2) Thanks(2)   Quote creole booty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A black identity question
    Posted: Feb 25 2014 at 12:10pm
You know how people say things like, "I'm just an actor, not a black actor." Or, "I'm a doctor, not a black dr."

How do u feel about that? Is it equality or ignorance?

Here's Langston Hughes:

"One of the most promising of the young Negro poets said to me once, "I want to be a poet--not a Negro poet," meaning, I believe, "I want to write like a white poet"; meaning subconsciously, "I would like to be a white poet"; meaning behind that, "I would like to be white." And I was sorry the young man said that, for no great poet has ever been afraid of being himself. And I doubted then that, with his desire to run away spiritually from his race, this boy would ever be a great poet. But this is the mountain standing in the way of any true Negro art in America--this urge within the race toward whiteness, the desire to pour racial individuality into the mold of American standardization, and to be as little Negro and as much American as possible."
Sponsored Links

Marcelo22 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (7) Thanks(7)   Quote Marcelo22 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb 25 2014 at 12:16pm